House building : the building lot

Share

The house building adventure is starting by  looking for a lot. We have actively done so from 2012. Our constraints about it were :

  • lot to be near our current location
  • lot to be in town
  • lot area above 500 m2
  • Correct lot orientation
  • Correct ratio price / benefit
  • lot free of builder

Our Township have a  servicing and allotment project that have started in 2012. This includes lots free of builder. We were no so attracted by this allotment aspect, but this kind of project is still the best, sometimes the only way to buy lots inside french towns with a “reasonable” price ( but what reasonable means when you are are speaking to buy a piece of yard ? ). Unless the price is still high, it includes all extras we should have paid in another situation ( sanitation, road, connections, … ). More than that this allotment should take into account environmental aspects. Typically, orientation of houses and shadows should have been optimized to maximize direct sunlight.

This allotment project was answering to most of our constraints. Hopefully we should be able to buy a lot with correct size, corresponding to 10 lots of more than 500m2 on 116 lots, and only 7 remaining on second slot.

zone_terrains

Lot 35We have selected lot number 35, and we had it. We have chosen this one for different reasons :

  • no road near the lot, then few noise
  • joint ownership only on one side, the other side being a small park
  • no vegetation shadows  ( conversely to west of allotment, where big oaks of more than 15 meters are standing )
  • pedestrian and vehicle crossing should be limited

However there is a special thing for this lot : front of house is South oriented, back being then in north side. It is reversed compared to what is requested normally. It means specific optimization of house positioning on the lot, and specifics for house itself.

Before we engaged into this purchase, I wanted to check shadow and house positioning on the lot.

This work have been done using Google sketchup software. This one has been selected because it is free, but powerful. However, like the name is stated, it is very good for sketching but less to deliver definitive technical drawings.

First steps in sketchup have been :

  • correctly position, geographically speaking, the lot ( to obtain shadows in accordance to the house location on earth )
  • retrieve satellite view of this location through Google maps ( integrated function inside sketchup )
    sketchup_google_earth
  • Insert a graphical view of allotment drawing, also keeping nearby houses shapes to be able to put the picture at correct place.
    This step have been done by scanning documents relatives to allotment, clean them using Gimp then insert it in Sketchup by using “Import image” function. I have used PNG picture files in order to keep transparent areas.
    sketchup_lotissement
  • insertion of technical drawing of the lot itself, to simplify placement of the house on the lot in the future
    sketchup_terrain_technique
  • Technical constraints for house building on the different lot are quite the same. Two zones are defined, a main one with height constraints ( 6m for the front of house, 11m maximum ), and a secondary zone ( 3,5m for the front of house, 4m maximum ).  Using those values, I know the worst case regarding shapes of nearby houses. I have then drawn roughly those nearby houses with the maximum size possible ( particularly the house which have a joined placement with our lot )
    sketchup_autres_constructions
  • I have also added trees on the corresponding location on allotment drawing :
    sketchup_vegetation
    sketchup_parametrage_ombresParameters of objects, also trees, can be modified ( parameters surrounded in red on picture above. They can receive or cast shadows. We can use this cast shadow parameter to generate or not shadows from the tree, in terms of date period that is simulated ( deciduous trees are losing their leaves in winter, so they lose their shadows also )
  • Then, simulation of shadows have started. Important date to select are  summer solstice ( 21 juin, the sun is at the higher position of the year ) and winter solstice ( 21 décembre, the sun is at the lower position of the year ). Parameters of shadows (date, time, … ) are configured from sketchup window “Shadow settings”.
    For the need of the video creation, I’ve included also a rough 3D modeling of our future house. Here are the results :

21th of december shadows

21th of june shadows

What I discovered from those simulations :

  • The allotment developer have done a correct work, shadows are limited
  • to put the house at the back of the lot ( this corresponds to what is presented on the videos ) allows direct sunlight during 4 hours ( compared to max 8 hours ) in worst case ( 21th of december ). This is a correct achievement.
  • The back of house, north oriented, will have direct sunshine at least 1 hour per day during diner timeframe,  between 21th of may and 21th of july. This prompted us to include terrace also at the back of the house.
Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Construction maison : le terrain

Share

L’aventure de la construction d’un maison commence par la recherche d’un terrain. Nous avons commencé à rechercher activement à partir de 2012. Nos contraintes étaient les suivantes :

  • terrain proche de notre logement actuel
  • terrain en ville
  • terrain de plus de 500 m2
  • terrain orienté correctement
  • Rapport prestation/prix correct
  • terrain libre de constructeur

La commune a un programme de viabilisation de terrain qui a commencé en 2012. Il s’agit de la création d’un lotissement avec parcelles libres de constructeur. Nous n’étions pas forcément attirés par l’aspect lotissement mais ce type de programme est actuellement l’une des rares possibilités d’acquérir un terrain en ville à prix « raisonnable » ( mais que veut dire raisonnable dans le cas de l’achat d’un bout de champ ? ). Même si le prix reste élevé il intègre tous les coûts de structure que nous aurions dû rajouter ( assainissement, voirie, branchements, … ). Par ailleurs, ces lotissements doivent prendre en compte l’aspect environnemental. Typiquement, les orientations et ombres portées des maisons sont optimisées pour normalement profiter au maximum des apports solaires.

Le lotissement répondait à une majorité de nos critères. Restait à espérer pouvoir acheter un terrain assez grand, soit 10 terrains de plus de 500m2 sur un lot de 116, dont 7 seulement restant sur la deuxième tranche.

zone_terrains

Lot 35Nous nous sommes positionnés sur le lot 35, et l’avons eu. Nous l’avons choisi pour plusieurs raisons :

  • pas de route proche, donc peu de bruit
  • mitoyenneté par un seul côté, l’autre côté étant une zone boisée
  • pas d’ombre portée dû à la végétation ( à l’inverse de l’ouest du lotissement où se trouvent des chênes de 15 mètre )
  • passage piétonnier et automobile normalement limité

Il a cependant une spécificité : la façade de la maison est orientée au sud, l’arrière orienté au nord. C’est à l’envers de ce qui est recherché en temps normal. Cela va impliquer une optimisation particulière du terrain ainsi que de la construction.

Avant de nous engager, j’ai souhaité vérifié les aspects ombre porté et positionnement de la maison.

La travail a été réalisé en utilisant le logiciel Google Sketchup. Ce logiciel a été sélectionné pour sa gratuité et sa puissance. Par contre, comme son nom l’indique, il est très efficace pour effectuer des esquisses, mais moins pour livrer des plans techniques.

Les premières étapes sur sketchup ont été :

  • se positionner correctement géographiquement ( pour avoir des ombres portées correspondant au lieu d’habitation )
  • récupérer une vue aérienne Google earth ( fonction intégrée à sketchup )
    sketchup_google_earth
  • Intégrer une extraction graphique du plan du lotissement dans lequel on a gardé le contour des maisons alentour pour un positionnement précis.
    Cette étape a été réalisée à partir de scans des documents fournis, nettoyage de ceux-ci dans gimp puis intégration de l’image en utilisant la fonction import d’image de sketchup. J’ai utilisé des images au format PNG pour garder la notion de zones transparentes dans l’image.
    sketchup_lotissement
  • intégration du plan technique du terrain au niveau de la parcelle pour permettre un positionnement précis de la maison par la suite
    sketchup_terrain_technique
  • les contraintes techniques entre les terrains sont très proches. Elles définissent les zones principales habitables avec des hauteurs maximales (6m façade, 11m maximum), des zones secondaires avec d’autres hauteurs ( 3,5m façade, 4m maximum ). Partant de ces contraintes nous connaissons le pire cas des constructions alentours. J’ai donc dessiné grossièrement les habitation alentours  avec leurs tailles maximales (en particulier la maison mitoyenne)
    sketchup_autres_constructions
  • J’ai enfin rajouté des arbres aux emplacements indiqué sur le plan
    sketchup_vegetation
    sketchup_parametrage_ombresLes paramètres des objets, dont les arbres, peuvent être modifiés ( paramètres entourés en rouge ci-dessus ). Ils peuvent recevoir ( receive ) ou générer des ombres ( cast ). On peut s’en servir pour activer ou désactiver les ombres portées des arbres en fonction de la période simulée ( perte de feuille des arbres caduques en hiver, donc absence d’ombre )
  • La simulation des ombres portées a alors pu être effectuée. Les dates à simuler en priorité sont le solstice d’été ( 21 juin, soleil au plus haut de l’année ) et le solstice d’hiver ( 21 décembre, soleil au plus bas de l’année ). Les paramètrages de l’ombre (date, heure, … ) se font à partir de la fenêtre « Paramètres d’ombre » de sketchup.
    Pour les besoins de la création des vidéos suivantes, j’ai rajouté également une vue approximative de notre future construction. Voici les résultats :

Ombres portées au 21 décembre

Ombres portées au 21 juin

Les conclusions que j’ai pu tirer de cette étude ont été :

  • Le travail du lotisseur a plutôt porté ses fruits, les ombres portées sont plutôt limitées
  • reculer la maison vers le fond du terrain ( implantation correspondant à ce qui est présenté sur les vidéos ) va permettre de profiter à plein du soleil pendant au moins 4 heures ( sur 8 heures ) au pire de l’année ( 21 décembre ). C’est un score honorable.
  • L’arrière de la maison, en plein nord va recevoir au moins 1 heure de soleil le soir à l’heure du dîner entre le 21 mai et 21 juillet. Cela nous a incité à rajouter également une terrasse au nord.
Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

Vous aimerez aussi...

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *