Inside Qubino Flush RGBW Dimmer

Share

I received few days ago this small  RGBW module from Qubino  (reference ZMNHWD1) which function is to control multicolor led bulbs or ribbons. I would like to thanks Planete-Domotique for this delivery.

Nice to look at, this small object impresses by its small size. It opens the question, how Qubino did it to have all electronics in a so small device. I didn’t want to wait more and opened it. Here is what I discovered.

Overall description

About its size : 40.5 x 32 x 14.5 mm. The picture below compares it to a USB key.

DSC_1405

It has a nice looking with its  “Qubino” blue color. The white border visible on the top is in fact the wire antenne which is by default located inside a slot of  the case. Aesthetic and well done.

DSC_1408

The connector block have many contacts : 10 contacts. Compared to modules connected to mains this is a lot of contacts. This device’s using low voltage (12V à 24V), security norms are much more important and minimum isolation between contacts is much less restrictive.

The case have a simple conception (2 parts fixed by clips) but neat. The label is although not simply done with paper, but a metalized one. It’s going to be still readable in 20 years.

DSC_1406

 

What’s inside ?

After opening quite easily the case here is what we discover :

  • On the bottom side
    DSC_1402

    • Z-wave + module which includes Zwave link management of cours but also provide part of the power of its microcontroller to manage all functions of the device (inputs/outputs). It’s  a ZM5101A module. This is the kind of module mostly used on this kind of Zwave+ products.
    • Golden pads above several small holes are designed for thermal dissipation of the components in the other side of the circuit
    • To be noted : protective diodes on the outputs aren’t mounted. It’s not a problem if you use the module for the target function, meaning Led lighting management. However you may take some care if you want to use the module for other extra functions like controlling 12V or 24V motors. Inductive devices like motores may destroy the output components.

 

  • On the top side

DSC_1401

  • connector block
  • inclusion button
  • dual color led
  • protection component
  • power decoupling with a good chemical capacitor (105°C component).
  • Power transistors on each output (TI CSD18540)
  • various chips. Note that many components have very small cases (0201)

Compacity of the device is then obtained by using components selected with small cases, for instance used inside smartphone products.
Components are of good quality.
Thermal aspects have been studied carefully. Output transistors are of very low impedance (RDS ON=1,8mohm), enabling low power dissipation as heat then device remains cooler. Heat dissipation may be around 0,300W at maximal current ( 3,25A*4 = 13A). This is a small power to dissipate.

Overall this is a modern design  without any visible concessions. It’s not the case for every smarthome products. Companies tend to reduce price, and this choice have necessarily an impact on fiability of the device through time.

Conclusion

I’ve been impressed by the size then conception quality of the device. I don’t have any doubt about the fiability of the product in time when used as normal (led driver)

The use of this device in my overall system is going to start, I’m going to try to be original. Stay tuned !

Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Qubino Flush RGBW Dimmer de l’intérieur

Share

J’ai reçu depuis peu ce petit module RGBW de Qubino  (référence ZMNHWD1) qui est conçu pour piloter des lampes ou rubans led multicolores. Je tiens d’ailleurs à remercier Planete-Domotique pour sa mise à disposition.

Plaisant à regarder, ce petit module impressionne surtout par sa taille. Il donne envie d’aller voir comment Qubino a fait tenir toute l’électronique dans cette petite boîte. J’ai assouvi ma curiosité et j’ai ouvert le boîtier. je vous présente ce que j’y ai découvert.

Présentation extérieure

Revenons d’abord sur la taille : 40.5 x 32 x 14.5 mm. La photo ci-dessous le compare à une clé USB.

DSC_1405

La présentation est plutôt sympathique avec sa couleur bleu « Qubino ». Le liseré blanc qu’on peut voir est en fait l’antenne filaire qui est rangée dans un logement du boîtier. Esthétique et bien vu.

DSC_1408

Le bornier contient un nombre important de bornes : en tout 10 contacts. Comparé aux modules contact sec sur secteur c’est beaucoup. Ce module RGBW fonctionne en basse tension (12V à 24V), les normes de sécurité sont beaucoup plus faibles et les distances d’isolement entre contacts beaucoup moins strictes.

Le boîtier est simple de conception (2 coques fixées par des clips) mais soignée. Même l’étiquette de marquage n’est pas une vulgaire étiquette papier, elle sera encore lisible dans 20 ans.

DSC_1406

 

Et à l’intérieur ?

Après ouverture relativement facile du boîtier voici ce que l’on découvre :

  • Le côté inférieur intègre
    DSC_1402

    • le module Z-wave + que réalise bien sûr le lien réseau mais fourni aussi la puissance de son microcontrôleur intégré pour réaliser la gestion de la carte (entrées / sorties). Il s’agit d’un module ZM5101A. C’est ce type de module qu’on retrouve la plupart du temps sur ce type de produit Zwave+.
    • Les pads dorés surplombant une batterie de trous servent à la dissipation thermique des composants situés de l’autre côté
    • A noter que les diodes de protection sur les sorties ne sont pas montées. Cela ne pose pas de problème pour la fonction prévue c’est à dire allumer des leds. Par contre méfiance si vous souhaitez utiliser le module pour des applications détournées, par exemple contrôler des moteurs 12V ou 24V. Des charges inductives comme des moteurs pourraient fragiliser voire détruire les composants de sortie.

 

  • Le côté supérieur contient

DSC_1401

  • le bornier
  • le bouton d’inclusion
  • une led bicolore
  • Un composant de protection
  • La partie découplage d’alimentation dont une capacité chimique de qualité ( composant 105°C).
  • des transistors de puissance sur chaque sortie (TI CSD18540)
  • toute la tripaille de composants annexes. A noter de nombreux composants dans de tous petits boîtiers (0201)

La compacité est donc obtenue grâce à l’utilisation de composants choisis dans les plus petits boîtiers, qu’on retrouve plus couramment dans les smartphones.
Les composants choisis sont de qualité.
Les aspects thermiques ont été réfléchies. Le transistor de sortie est un composant à très faible impédance (RDS ON=1,8mohm), cela permet d’éviter que le composant dissipe trop d’énergie en chaleur et que le circuit ne devienne trop chaud. La dissipation de chaleur maximale se situe à environ 0,300W au courant maximal ( 3,25A*4 = 13A). C’est une puissance à dissiper faible.

L’ensemble est un design électronique moderne et sans concession visible. C’est loin d’être toujours le cas dans le domaine de la domotique. Les sociétés peuvent avoir tendance à baisser le prix de revient au maximum ce qui a forcément une influence sur la fiabilité dans le temps.

Conclusion

J’ai été assez surpris de la taille du module puis de la qualité de conception du produit. Je n’ai pas de doute sur la fiabilité dans le temps de ce produit en utilisation driver de led.

La mise en place de ce module dans mon installation domotique ne va pas tarder. Je vais tenter de sortir des sentiers battus. Restez connectés !

Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

Vous aimerez aussi...

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *