Moby is opening sources of his album “Innocents”

perfect_life_ableton
Share

I have read various posts on the net ( ici ou , here or there ) about the opening of audio track “sources” of the latest Moby’s album “Innocents”. Wonderful ! Could we all become the latest well-known DJ by understanding Moby’s recipes and updating them like we want ? I decided to have a close look to those sources. What is it then ? What is “open source” music ?

Audio Projects retrieving

Audio projects shared by Moby are available on Blend.io website. This is a dedicated platform for audio projects sharing and collaborative work. You have to be invited to access to this website, but it is possible to request an account (temporarily?) to administrator. There are two projects submitted by Moby. Only the song “Perfect Life” is available in two formats : Ableton Live and Pro Tools. Blend.io use Dropbox as an interface for transferring files. So you must have a Dropbox account and sufficient storage area to do the transfer. These projects do not exceed 1.2 GB, so than can be contained in a free dropbox account whose size is limited to 2.5 GB. But if you plan to work on these files and transfer them back to blend.io, take care not to exceed the maximum size, or purchase a Dropbox Pro account.

Audio Projects

“Perfect Life” project for Ableton Live

perfect_life_ableton

Ableton Live is a semi-professional virtual recording studio. It contains all the tools to record and mix audio tracks. It also contains music creation tools (synthesizers, samplers, effects, …).
When opening the project “Perfect Life”, one can discover the elements that have been provided by Moby : a set of audio tracks containing different instruments in the composition of the song.

Perfect_live_ableton_total

“Perfect Life” project for Ableton

Perfect_live_ableton_moby_wayne

Moby & Wayne

Here are the different tracks with sound samples for each :

Nom de la piste Ableton Extrait sonore Commentaire
ADlibs
Choir
Backing vocals
Moby Lead Vocals with effects ( Delay / Reverb )
Wayne Vocals with effects ( Delay / Reverb )
Strings
Synths Ambient Synths
Piano & Organ Piano with moby’s touch
Guitars Acoustic + electric
Bass Electronic Bass
Percussion
Drums
Snare
Kick
Military Snares
Live Kit Live record of a Battery set
Mix :

Regarding the split of the various instruments, the situation is:

  •      + + All voices and choir are splitted
  •      + Kick, bass, snare are splitted, but we would have dreamt about sequencer track plus audio samples
  •      + String separated and synths, but we would have dreamt about sequencer track plus audio samples
  •      + Live recording of battery kit and percussion
  •      Piano and organ on same track
  •      – Other elements of the electronic drum mixed together
  •      – Acoustic and electric guitar on the same track
The major problem is that these tracks are thoroughly mixed with audio effects (delay, reverb, chorus, …). No way to remix them all and add effects when needed. The Moby’s sound touch won’t be removed from the tracks easily.
Moreover it seems that the tracks were not as cleaned and reworked as they should have been for the studio mix (Wayne voice for example).

“Perfect Life” project for Protools 9

perfect_life_protools

Pro Tools is a professional virtual recording studio. It contains all the tools to record and mix audio tracks, but also music creation tools (synthesizers, samplers, effects, …).

After a 1h 1/4 installation of the trial version, rebooting 2 times computer, and look for a Ilok key, here is what we can see :

capture_protools

“Perfect Life” project for Pro Tools

The same audio tracks described above are also present in Pro Tools. Comments are then the same.

More than that, some details give clues that Pro Tools was the tool used in Moby’s studio. For example, the project has not been fully cleaned, some plugins are still called when opening it (Battery 3 and analog factory plugins). Unfortunately no MIDI tracks of these virtual instruments are present, or other items apart from audio tracks.

Conclusion

We discovered into those projects a consistent set of tracks for ” Perfect Life” title, that actually  allow to remix it in a fairly comfortable way . This will be very welcomed undoubtedly for those wishing to make their own clubbing remix.

However, it is far from opening all information about that title In the software world, when you are opening your source code it implies that it is possible to understand in full details how the software is working. In this case these details are not present : raw audio tracks are not available, limiting also reuse possibilities. It is more something like a pre-mix, an audio preview that is provided on 16 separate tracks, all including also a large part of audio effects. So we are not going to know all the secrets of this title : instruments, effects, settings, etc. …

From a marketing perspective , the opening of these “sources” have had a large effect through internet. You can even read some french posts speaking of “open source” music. The open source software gurus , are going to blow up !

Anyway we have to thanks Moby about his effort to have those information a little more accessible . For decades dedicated companies around the world are responsible for storing and protecting the audio and video master recordings. Their premises are more protected than a bank. Opening such kind of project is like one of the armored doors of a bunker have been kept slightly opened and we were able to see a small part of what’s inside …

Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Monday February 17th, 2014

    […] L’article de clubic – Moby : après la musique gratuite, la musique open source. L’article de vincent Recipon […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Moby ouvre les sources de son album « Innocents »

perfect_life_ableton
Share

J’ai pu lire sur le net différents articles ( ici ou , here or there  ) concernant l’ouverture par moby des « sources » audio des morceaux de son dernier album « Innocents ». Quel bonheur ! Pourrions nous tous devenir le dernier DJ à la mode en comprenant les recettes de cuisine de Moby, et modifier ses morceaux. Il me fallait aller voir cela de plus près. De quoi s’agit t’il donc ? Que contient de la musique « open source » ?

Récupération des projets audio

Les projets audio partagés par Moby sont accessible depuis le site Blend.io. Il s’agit d’une plateforme dédiée au partage de projets audio et au travail collaboratif. Son accès est possible par invitation, mais il est possible de demander ( temporairement ? ) un accès à l’administrateur. On y trouve deux projets déposés par Moby. Seul le morceau « Perfect Life »  est disponible sous deux formats : Ableton Live et Pro Tools. Blend.io utilise Dropbox comme interface de transfert des fichiers. Vous devez donc posséder un compte Dropbox, et un espace suffisant pour transférer les projets voulus. Ces projets ne dépassent pas 1,2 Go, ils peuvent donc être contenu dans un espace dropbox gratuit dont la taille est limitée à 2,5 Go. Cependant si l’on espère travailler sur ces fichiers et les transférer sur la plateformes de nouveau, attention à ne pas dépasser la taille maximale, ou alors penser à investir dans un compte payant Dropbox.

Les projets Audio

Projet « Perfect Life » au format Ableton Live

perfect_life_ableton

Ableton Live est un studio d’enregistrement virtuel semi-professionnel. Il contient toutes les fonctions nécessaires pour enregistrer et mixer des pistes audio. Il contient également des outils de création musicale ( synthétiseurs, échantillonneurs, effets, … ).
Lorsqu’on ouvre le projet « Perfect Life », on peut découvrir les éléments que nous a fournit Moby : un ensemble de pistes audio contenant les différents instruments rentrant dans la composition du morceau.

Perfect_live_ableton_total

Projet « Perfect Life » sur Ableton

Perfect_live_ableton_moby_wayne

Moby & Wayne

Voici la liste des différents pistes avec des extraits sonore :

Nom de la piste Ableton Extrait sonore Commentaire
 ADlibs
Choir
Backing vocals
Moby Lead Vocals Avec effet ( Délai / Reverb )
Wayne Vocals Avec effet ( Délai / Reverb )
Strings
Synths Synthé ambiance
Piano & Organ Piano avec touche Moby
Guitars Acoustique + électrique
Bass Basse electronique
Percussion
Drums
Snare
Kick
Military Snares
Live Kit Batterie enregistré en live
Mixage :

Au niveau de la séparation des différents instruments, la situation est la suivante :

  • ++ toutes les voix et choeurs séparés
  • + Kick, bass, snare séparés, mais on aurait rêver d’avoir la programmation du séquenceur plus les échantillons
  • + String et synthés séparés, mais on aurait rêver d’avoir la programmation du séquenceur plus les échantillons
  • + enregistrement du Live Kit et des percussions
  • Piano et orgue sur même piste
  • – autres éléments de la batterie électronique remixées
  • – guitare sèche et electrique sur même piste

Le problème majeur est que ces pistes sont abondamment noyées dans les effets ( délai, reverb, chorus, …). Pas moyen de remixer tout cela au mieux en remettant les effets par la suite. La touche sonore de Moby ne pourra pas disparaître facilement.
Par ailleurs il semble que les pistes n’aient pas été autant nettoyées et retravaillées que ce qu’elles ont dû l’être pour le mix studio (voix de Wayne par exemple).

Projet « Perfect Life » au format Protools 9

perfect_life_protools

Pro Tools est un studio d’enregistrement virtuel professionnel. Il contient toutes les fonctions nécessaires pour enregistrer et mixer des pistes audio, mais également des outils de création musicale ( synthétiseurs, échantillonneurs, effets, … ).

Après 1h15 d’installation de la version d’essai, 2 reboots, et la recherche d’une clé Ilok, voilà ce que l’on y trouve :

capture_protools

Projet « Perfect Life » sur Pro Tools

Les même pistes audio que ci-dessus sont présentes également sous Pro tools. Les mêmes remarques s’appliquent.

Remarquons cependant que quelques détails montrent que Pro tools était l’outil utilisé en studio. Par exemple le projet n’a pas été entièrement nettoyé, certains plugins étant encore appelés à l’ouverture du projet ( plugins Battery 3 et analog factory). Malheureusement plus aucun trace de la programmation MIDI de ces instruments ou d’autres éléments en dehors des pistes audio.

Conclusion

Les projets fournis nous fournissent un ensemble de pistes cohérentes du morceau « Perfect life » permettant effectivement de remixer celui-ci d’une façon assez confortable. Cela plaira sans doute beaucoup pour ceux qui souhaitent faire leur propre remix club.

On est loin cependant de la fourniture des « sources » de ce morceau. Dans le monde informatique fournir les sources, signifie qu’il est possible de comprendre dans les moindres détails la façon dont fonctionne le logiciel. Dans le cas présent ces détails ne sont pas présents : les pistes audio brutes ne sont pas fournies ce qui limite par ailleurs la réutilisation qu’il est possible d’en faire. Il s’agit plus d’un pré-mix, d’une maquette qui est fournie sur 16 pistes séparées, le tout largement enrobé d’effets audio. On ne peut donc pas connaître les secrets de fabrication de ce morceau : les instruments utilisés, les effets, les réglages, etc…

D’un point de vue marketing, l’ouverture de ces « sources » a par contre fait largement son effet sur internet. On peut même y croiser des articles français parlant d’ « open source » à propos de ce morceau. Les gurus de l’open source logiciel, vont sauter au plafond !

Quoi qu’il en soit il reste à souligner l’effort de Moby pour rendre un peu plus accessible ces informations. Depuis des dizaines d’années des entreprises à travers le monde sont responsables de stocker et protéger les masters des enregistrements audio et vidéo. Leurs locaux sont plus protégés qu’une banque. Alors ouvrir un tel projet revient un peu à trouver l’une des portes du bunker mal fermée et en profiter pour voir furtivement ce qui s’y trouve …

Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

Vous aimerez aussi...

1 réponse

  1. lundi 17 février UTC

    […] L’article de clubic – Moby : après la musique gratuite, la musique open source. L’article de vincent Recipon […]

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *