Self tuning of noise reduction in Lightroom

Share

To obtain the best of your photos, digital treatment of them on computer is the best way to do. It can be done using Raw file images when shooting. You then use dedicated software, famous one being Lightroom or Dxo Optics Pro. After an evaluation of both, I have selected Lightroom because of its additional features (geolocation, diaporama, books, …), and its easiest way and speedy way to use it. Dxo Optics Pro was a better choice regarding quality of treatments, but those two software are quite equivalent today on that topic.

Noise reduction

One of the most important algorithm integrated in those software is noise reduction one. Those software are replacing noise removal features integrated into cameras. Thanks to computation power available into computers, we can obtain better results when working that way.

Dxo Optics Pro have a very effective noise reduction algorithm, maybe too effective for my taste. It prefers noise removal to details preservation all in all. Its algorithm is adapting itself to ISO sensibility that have been used during the shot. Then noise removal will be automatically more important at 3200 ISO than 100 ISO.

lightroom_noiseLightroom have an noise reduction algorithm which is easier to tune when you want to keep those details. Its big drawback is that it is not able to take into account ISO used when shooting. To have the best results, you should then modify independantly each parameters for each photo and each ISO. When you have several hundreds of holidays photos, you don’t have time to do it that way. Then there are 2 solutions :

  • use a medium noise reduction setting for all photos and all ISO,  having a risk to remove details at low ISO and keep too much noise at high ISO.
  • Use an external plugin for Lightroom which will set correct noise reduction settings in regards to ISO sensibility used.

“JF Bulk Develop settings” plugin

This plugin is available  on this website.

It can be fully evaluated during 6 weeks. After this period, it is still functional by it can manage only 8 photos at the same time. Giving a donation to the author and you will be able to register the plugin and receive a code to fully use it.

When installed, it’s possible to use it through menu File –> External modules

lightroom_access_jfplugin

What is it doing exactly ? When setup regarding noise reduction for lowest ISO and highest ISO is done (for instance doing so for 100 ISO and for 6400 ISO), it is able to set the correct setting for all ISO in the middle, using a simple proportional law. This is really effective and you’re going to obtain very good results.

The plugin is also taking into account eventual increase of luminosity you have done in Lightroom on your photos. Then the plugin have to be used after luminosity/contrast of your photos is tuned. I advise you to launch it when all other tuning have been done : in that case, noise reduction algorithm is not activated during this period ( cursor is set by default to 0 for luminance noise reduction), your computer will be more reactive and other algorithms quicker.

Note also, that the plugin can conditionaly tune parameters of images : if a cursor have already been moved (the value is different from 0 or 25) then tuning that you have already done won’t be modified. To close the chapter, you have also configuration parameters different for the each of your cameras (you lucky devil !).

lightroom_main_jfpluginTuning the plugin

To find the tuning parameters you have to follow those steps :

  • Take RAW file shots of the same scene but with different ISO settings (100, 400, 1600, 6400 for example)
  • use camera auto-exposure feature to keep the same level of luminosity for each shot.
  • import those photos into Lightroom
  • lightroom_noise_importantTune with great care noise reduction parameters for those photos. Most important cursors are Luminosity, Color and Masking.
  • you should discover by yourself that there is naturally a proportional rule between your settings and the ISO level of the shots.
  • you can then enter the settings you have found into the plugin for the ISO range you want to automatically manage :
    • Lower bound : At {min ISO  value in the range} set
      • the “luminance noise reduction to {Luminosity cursor value for this ISO},
      • “color noise reduction” {Color cursor value for this ISO}, and
      • sharpening mask to {Masking cursor value for this ISO}
    • do the same for Upper Bound ISO value of the range

Let’s speak a little about the parameters relative to luminosity increasing of shots inside Lightroom (For each +1EV …), I myself have’nt done a new batch of photos to find those values. All in all, this is mathematically the same, and +1EV means also doubling the ISO sensibility. I’ve then reused previous tuned values in regards to a 2x ISO increment (100 to 200 ISO for instance).

Other tuning relative to noise reduction (Details, Contrast, …) have a very subtle impact, I’m myself not using extensively those parameters.

My configuration for a Nikon D3100

I everytime prefer to keep some noise but be sure not to remove any details. Following that rules I have obtained those values for my D3100 camera :

  • lightroom_main_jfpluginLower Bound
    • At ISO 100 set the “Luminance noise reduction” to 20, “color noise reduction” to  15, and “sharpening mast” to 25
  • Upper Bound
    • At ISO 6400 set the “Luminance noise reduction” to 70, “color noise reduction” to  25, and “sharpening mast” to 60
  • Computation Base Upon Exposure Adjustment
    • For each +1EV of exposure added in Lightroom, increase “luminance noise reduction” by 8, “color noise reduction” by 1, “sharpening mask” by 6

Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Gestion automatique de la réduction de bruit sous Lightroom

Share

Pour obtenir le meilleur de ses photos, il s’avère qu’un tirage numérique de ceux-ci est la méthode gagnante. Cela s’effectue sur les images au format RAW prises par l’appareil photo. On utilise des logiciels dédiés, les plus connus étant Lightroom et Dxo Optics Pro. Après avoir évalué les deux, j’ai choisi Lightroom pour les fonctions supplémentaires qui sont incluses ( géolocalisation, diaporama, livre, …), et sa plus plus grande facilité et rapidité d’utilisation. Dxo Optics Pro gardait une avance sur la qualité des traitements, mais les deux logiciels sont aujourd’hui très proches à ce niveau.

Réduction de bruit

L’un des algorithmes important qui est intégré dans ces logiciels concerne la réduction du bruit des images. Ces logiciels remplacent les algorithmes de réduction de bruit intégrés aux appareils photos. La puissance de calcul d’un ordinateur aidant, on obtient de meilleurs résultats en travaillant de cette façon.

Dxo Optics Pro a un algorithme très efficace à ce niveau, trop efficace à mon goût cependant. Il privilégie souvent la suppression du bruit à la préservation des détails. Son algorithme adapte le niveau de suppression de bruit en fonction de la sensibilité utilisée lors de la prise de vue. La suppression de bruit sera donc automatiquement plus forte à 3200 ISO qu’à 100 ISO.

lightroom_noiseLightroom a un algorithme de suppression de bruit efficace, plus facilement dosable lorsqu’on souhaite garder un maximum de détail. Son gros défaut est que cet algorithme ne prend pas en compte la sensibilité ISO à la prise de vue. Pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats il faudrait donc modifier les réglages indépendamment pour chaque photo et chaque ISO. Quand on a plusieurs centaines de photos de vacances, on ne peut se permettre de modifier ces réglages individuellement. Il y a donc deux solutions :

  • appliquer un réglage médian pour toutes les photos et tous les ISO, avec le risque de perdre du détail aux faibles ISO et garder du bruit aux fortes ISO.
  • utiliser un module externe dans Lightroom qui appliquera les bon réglages en fonction de la sensibilité utilisée à la prise de vue.

Le Plugin « JF Bulk Develop settings »

Ce plugin est disponible à cette adresse.

Il peut être évalué complètement pendant 6 semaines. Après cette période, le plugin reste fonctionnel mais il ne peut plus traiter que 8 photos à la fois. Un don à l’auteur vous permettra d’enregistrer le plugin et recevoir un code pour le garder totalement fonctionnel.

Une fois installé, il est possible d’accèder au plugin par le menu Fichier –> Modules externes

lightroom_access_jfplugin

Que fait ce module ? Après lui avoir indiqué les réglages de réduction de bruit aux valeurs extrêmes de sensibilité (réglages pour 100 ISO et pour 6400 ISO par exemple), il est capable d’appliquer les bons réglages pour toutes les sensibilités intermédiaires par une simple règle de proportionnalité. C’est diablement efficace et cela donne un résultat vraiment optimal.

Le plugin prend également en compte une éventuelle augmentation de la luminosité qu’on applique aux photos. Le lancement du plugin est donc à effectuer après un réglage de luminosité / contraste de vos image. Je vous conseille d’ailleurs de lancer ce plugin une fois que tous les autres réglages ont été effectués : dans ce cas la réduction de bruit n’est pas active pendant cette phase ( le curseur est par  défaut à 0 pour la réduction de bruit de luminance), votre ordinateur sera donc plus réactif et les autres traitements plus rapides.

A noter également que le plugin peut effectuer conditionnellement les réglages sur vos photos : si le curseur a été déplacé (valeur différente de 0 ou de 25 ) alors les réglages que vous avez effectués peuvent être gardés inchangés. Enfin les réglages sont différents pour chacun des appareils photos que vous utilisez (veinard !).

lightroom_main_jfpluginRéglage du plugin

Pour effectuer le réglage du plugin les étapes suivantes sont à effectuer :

  • prendre des photos au format RAW de la même scène avec un réglage d’ISO différents (100, 400, 1600, 6400 par exemple)
  • laisser l’appareil photo adapter l’exposition pour garder une même niveau de luminosité pour chaque prise de vue.
  • importer ces photos sous Lightroom
  • lightroom_noise_importantRéglez finement les paramètres de réduction de bruit pour ces photos. Les curseurs les plus importants sont LuminanceCouleur et Masquage.
  • vous devriez vous apercevoir que, naturellement, il existe une règle de proportionalité entre les réglage que vous avez effectués et la sensibilité utilisée.
  • Il ne vous reste plus qu’à entrer les valeurs que vous avez obtenues pour la plage d’ISO que vous souhaitez traiter automatiquement avec le plugin :
    • Lower bound : At {valeur min plage ISO} set
      • the « luminance noise reduction to {valeur curseur Luminance à cet ISO},
      • « color noise reduction » {valeur curseur Couleur à cet ISO}, and
      • sharpening mask to {valeur curseur Masquage à cet ISO}
    • Idem pour la valeur ISO maximum que vous voulez traiter (« Upper Bound »)

En ce qui concerne les paramètres qui sont appliqués par l’augmentation de la luminosité de l’image (For each +1EV …), je n’ai pas refait de campagne de test, photos à l’appui. Tout ceci reste assez mathématique, et +1EV correspond au doublement de la sensibilité ISO. J’ai donc repris la règle de proportionnalité ci-dessus dans le cas du passage d’un ISO au suivant (100 à 200 ISO par exemple).

Pour les autres réglages de cet algorithme de suppression de bruit ( Détail, Contraste, Lissage, …) leur impact est très subtil, pour ma part je les utilise assez peu.

Mes réglages pour un Nikon D3100

Je préfère toujours garder un peu de bruit dans l’image mais être sûr de ne pas perdre de détail. Cela a abouti aux réglages suivants pour mon D3100 :

  • lightroom_main_jfpluginLower Bound
    • At ISO 100 set the « Luminance noise reduction » to 20, « color noise reduction » to  15, and « sharpening mast » to 25
  • Upper Bound
    • At ISO 6400 set the « Luminance noise reduction » to 70, « color noise reduction » to  25, and « sharpening mast » to 60
  • Computation Base Upon Exposure Adjustment
    • For each +1EV of exposure added in Lightroom, increase « luminance noise reduction » by 8, « color noise reduction » by 1, « sharpening mask » by 6

Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

Vous aimerez aussi...

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *