Temperature measurement of several smarthome peripherals

Share

I had an opportunity to borrow a thermal camera thanks to a course at Rennes University. I took time to look on several smarthome peripherals that are available in my house.

I have had all necessary information to do those measurement, so I took care about all aspects to have those correct : measurement on a black tape which have well known emissivity (0,95), direct reflection measurement using aluminium sheet, camera tuning with correct ambient temperature and hygrometry.

Fibaro FGR-221

No, this module is not providing temperature measurement, although it’s consuming power then it is heating. Let’s have a look what’s happening in real life. In my case the module is behind the switch at the bottom :

fgr221_thermique_photo fgr221_thermique_temp

We can see clearly temperature increase on the bottom switch due to fibaro module. Increase of the switch is 3°C compared to the others above.

In case of RT2012 house, then using sealed electrical box, this temperature increase should be higher. Hopefully it will remain acceptable …

Oregon Scientific THGR122N probe

thgr122n_thermique_photo thgr122n_thermique_temp

Firstly we can see that we have very small temperature difference between environment (the wall) and the probe itself because it drains very low current then have a very low power dissipation. It is very difficult to distingish the probe itself from the wall when using the thermal camera.
All camera calibrations being done, we can measure a temperature of 21,2°C on the probe, the temperature value measured by the probe being 20,9°C. The difference is then very small (0,3°C).

Temperature accuracy for this probe is confirmed by the measure. I have had in the past also check that measurement dispersion is also very limited :  having three probe at the same place, they measure exactly the same temperature.

Aeon 4 in 1 multisensor motion detector

aeon_thermique_temp

The measured temperature on the device is 22,7°C. The value sent by the sensor is 20,9°C. The difference is then important.

Such a big difference can’t be explained by a bad design or system calibration. A temperature measurement using a CTN is easy to design and dispersion is much less important than what we can measure here. I then think this delta has been volontary added in order to compensate the fact that the sensor will be most of time fitted on the roof, although the ambient temperature measurement should be done at 1,5 m from the floor.

However, temperature differences between different heights depends really on the kind of home, insulation, heating system … It is then not recommended to use such sensor to do thermal regulation of a room.

Thermostatic valve StellaZ

Stellaz_thermique5_photo Stellaz_thermique4_temp
Stellaz_thermique1_photo Stellaz_thermique2_temp Stellaz_thermique3_temp

Here are the values measured with the thermal camera and the one sent by the devices.

Measured temp
on the valve
Measured temp
on the wall
Temp sent to controller
Thermostatic valve 1
22,9°C 22,3°C 22,5°C
Thermostatic valve 2
22,3°C 21,5°C 23,0°C

Thermal picture show us that the CTN is correctly located at the top front of the valve, because this is the location where temperature is reflecting the most the ambient one when the radiator is heating. The thermal difference between that point and ambient is around 0,5°C.
Surprinsingly the slot in the middle of the top side have some effect on the thermal flow, we can see some temperature difference there. Removing this slot could improve temperature measurement accuracy.

The difference between measured values and sent values is between 0,5°C and 1°C. This is quite relevant with the product specification which provides an accuracy of ±0,5°C. This accuracy is visible also on an eedomus controller, only the values that are multiple of 0,5°C are displayed.

Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Thursday August 7th, 2014

    […] température extérieure, j’utilise une sonde oregon scientific qui a une bonne précision (voir cet article). Quand à la température dans les pièces, elles proviennent des têtes thermostatiques […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mesure en température de periphériques domotiques

Share

J’ai eu l’opportunité d’avoir en prêt une caméra thermique dans le cadre d’un cours à l’université. J’en ai profité pour jeter un coup d’oeil sur les quelques modules domotiques qui peuplent mon chez moi.

Ayant eu toutes les informations nécessaires en cours pour effectuer ces mesures, j’ai pris toutes les précautions nécessaires pour avoir des mesures fiables : mesure sur ruban adhésif noir de coefficient d’émissivité connu (0,95), mesure de la réflexion direct avec une feuille d’aluminium, réglage de la caméra avec les valeurs de température et hygrométrie ambiantes correctes.

Fibaro FGR-221

Non ce module ne remonte pas de valeur de température, par contre il consomme, donc il chauffe. Voyons ce que cela donne en réel. Dans le cas ci-dessous le module se situe dans l’interrupteur du bas :

fgr221_thermique_photo fgr221_thermique_temp

On voit très clairement l’augmentation de température induite par le module Fibaro qui se mesure sur l’interrupteur. L’augmentation de température de cet interrupteur par rapport aux autres est de 3°C.

Dans le cas d’une maison RT2012, donc avec des boîtes électriques étanches, cette augmentation devrait être encore bien plus importante. Espérons que cela reste dans la limite du raisonnable …

Sonde Oregon Scientific THGR122N

thgr122n_thermique_photo thgr122n_thermique_temp

Nous pouvons tout d’abord voir la très faible différence de température entre la sonde elle même et l’environnement ( le mur) puisque la sonde consomme et dissipe très peu d’énergie. Il est très difficile de distinguer thermiquement l’appareil.
Toutes les calibrations ayant été effectuées, la caméra thermique me donne une température de 21,2°C alors que la sonde renvoit la valeur 20,9°C. L’écart est donc très faible (0,3°C).

La précision en température des sondes Oregon  se confirme. J’avais déjà auparavant pu vérifier que leur dispersion est également faible : trois sondes mises au même endroit renvoient une valeur identique.

Détecteur de mouvement Aeon 4 in 1

aeon_thermique_temp

La température mesurée au niveau du capteur est égale à 22,7°C. La mesure renvoyée par le détecteur est de 20,9°C. L’écart est donc très important.

Un tel écart s’explique difficilement par un mauvais design ou une mauvaise calibration. Une mesure de température par CTN est facile à réaliser et la dispersion bien plus faible que l’écart qu’on peut mesurer ici. Je pense donc que cet écart a été volontairement introduit afin de compenser le fait que le capteur sera majoritairement placé au plafond alors que la mesure de la température ambiante doit être réalisée à 1,5 m du sol.

La différence de température à plusieurs hauteurs de la pièce dépend cependant très fortement de l’habitation : son isolation, son système de chauffage, … Il est donc déconseillé d’utiliser ce capteur pour réaliser de la régulation de température dans une pièce.

Tête thermostatique StellaZ

Stellaz_thermique5_photo Stellaz_thermique4_temp
Stellaz_thermique1_photo Stellaz_thermique2_temp Stellaz_thermique3_temp

Voici ci-dessous une comparaison des valeurs mesurées et renvoyées.

Valeur mesurée
sur la tête
Valeure mesurée
sur le mur
Valeur renvoyée
Tête thermostatique 1 22,9°C 22,3°C 22,5°C
Tête thermostatique 2 22,3°C 21,5°C 23,0°C

La vue thermique permet tout d’abord de voir que la sonde de température a été positionnée correctement en haut et à l’avant puisque c’est la zone dont la température se rapproche le plus de la température ambiante lorsque le radiateur chauffe. La différence entre température ambiante et cette zone est de l’ordre de 0,5°C.
Etonnamment la fente au milieu de la face supérieure a un effet sur les flux thermique, on arrive à discerner des différences de température. La suppression de cette fente aurait pu permettre d’améliorer la précision de la mesure.

Les écarts entre valeurs mesurées et retournées se situent entre 0,5°C et 1°C. Cela reste relativement homogène avec la spécification du produit qui nous donne une précision à ±0,5°C. On découvre d’ailleurs très vite cette précision sur une box eedomus, seules les valeurs multiples de 0,5°C sont affichées.

Share

Vincent Recipon

Propriétaire de ce blog. Owner of this blog.

Vous aimerez aussi...

1 réponse

  1. jeudi 7 août UTC

    […] température extérieure, j’utilise une sonde oregon scientific qui a une bonne précision (voir cet article). Quand à la température dans les pièces, elles proviennent des têtes thermostatiques […]

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *